Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic speckled trout pattern (Read 3826 times)
Jerry Poindexter
Bronze Member

Zodiac sign: Leo
speckled trout pattern
Apr 6th, 2008 at 4:33am
Print Post  
Howdy from Texas! I'm just getting started w/ the program and am having a hard time w/ the sizing. I thought I created a pattern that was 8mmX24.9mm. The thread count in the pattern is 63x196. It's apparent to me that 63 poly40 threads will be larger than 8mm. When I did a practice weave using poly40 design and "A" NCP wrap, I got a weave that measures roughly 16.5mmX39mm. The weave isn't tight, but thats a big difference in size. Is it obvious where I went astray? Thanks for any help that you might have. I would attach the pattern, but it's a wve file. Jerry

IP Logged

Owen Dare
YaBB Administrator
Experienced Weaver

Zodiac sign: Sagittarius
Re: speckled trout pattern
Reply #1 - Apr 6th, 2008 at 9:57am
Print Post  
Hi Jerry,
The displayed size in PicToWeave is based on the manufacturers published diameter of the thread. They are shown in this screenshot.

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links)

It is at best a rough guide in the default state.
There are many variables in play that determine the finished size you will get. And everyone will weave differently.

In your case of 63 x #40 threads, if you could lay them exactly side by side, then the height of the weave would indeed be aproximately 8mm high. However because that never happens in real life, I have made all the thread sizes configurable so once you know what YOUR weaving technique requires, then you can adjust them accordingly.
I find most of my weaves come out 15-20% higher than stated depending on the thread brand I use.
Another person may pack their threads tighter or looser and require a different adjustment.
I will post some designs I have done and the finished sizes I got soon.