Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Getting Started (Read 15295 times)
fishergirl06
Ex Member

Getting Started
Dec 28th, 2008 at 2:40am
Print Post  
I have this really neat graphic of Snoopy (from Peanuts) that I want to put on a rod.  He is in Flying Ace gear so there are about 4 or 5 layers.  I have never done a weave like this before, so I am wondering what is the best way to get started?  How do I get the wrapping thread to 'ramp' up to the weave so I don't have a sharp edge that the threads will fall off of?  I know this is probably a bit above my actual level of weaving, but I have it all set up and ready to go now, so I don't want to take it off until I'm done (i'm sort of stubborn that way).
So any input I would really welcome!
Thanks in advance!
Stacy

IP Logged

Owen Dare
YaBB Administrator
Experienced Weaver

Zodiac sign: Sagittarius
Re: Getting Started
Reply #1 - Dec 28th, 2008 at 7:50am
Print Post  
Stacy,
Don't try to get the wrapping thread to "ramp up the threads"

Lay your threads out and begin your wrapping thread well in from the ends.
You will need some length sticking out to the left when you are finished to allow you to tighten the threads.

The attached image should give you an idea of what I'm rambling about.

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links)

When you are finished tightening, packing & rolling, THEN cut the excess threads  on an angle so that they are not all the same length.
Then using a blade, scrape them to make them flatten out and fray.
Then wet them so that they sit down nice and flate.
THEN start another wrap thread on top of the original and wrap back towards the left and over your design threads.

Follow the same process on the right side, but in this case you will have your original wrapping thread still connected, so you just continue over the end with it.